2020 CPL Book Groups

Join a book group at Cranston Public Library and share your love of reading with other book lovers! We offer monthly meetings at our Central Library, Auburn Branch, and William Hall Library locations.

Registration is required. Participants must have a valid Ocean State Libraries card


BOOK GROUPS @ CENTRAL LIBRARY

  • COOKBOOK CLUB, 1st Wednesdays (with some exceptions)

You Have it Made by Ellie KriegerNext meeting: Wednesday, March 4, 5:30 - 7:00 PM

You Have It Made by Ellie Krieger

Krieger over one hundred and forty recipes for dishes that can be made ahead of time, including blueberry-chia overnight oats in jars, herbed salmon salad, and pulled pork tacos with pineapple and pickled onions.

For more information and to register, contact the Central Library reference desk at 401-943-9080 x3 or central@cranstonlibrary.org.

 Registration is required. Space is limited. Titles and meeting dates are subject to change

 

  • COVER TO COVER BOOK GROUP, 3rd Thursdays (with some exceptions) | For readers who enjoy an eclectic variety of fiction titles

Still Life book cover

Next meeting: Wednesday, March 18, 2:00 - 3:00 PM (Please note Wednesday meeting time) | Registration opens February 20, 2020

Still Life by Louise Penny

Why this title was chosenA Chief Inspector in Quebec has to investigate a murder in a small, quiet town that is hiding many dark secrets. Is anything what it seems?

For more information and to register, contact the Central Library reference desk at 401-943-9080 x3 or central@cranstonlibrary.org.

Registration is required. Space is limited. Titles and meeting dates are subject to change.

 

  • GRAPHIC NOVEL BOOK GROUP, 1st Wednesdays | For readers of comic books, graphic novels, and manga

 Sabrina by Nick DrnasoNext meeting: Wednesday, March 4, 6:30 - 7:30 PM | Registration opens February 6

Sabrina by Nick Drnaso

Why this title was chosen: Drnaso’s examination of fake news and conspiracy theories feels particularly important now, especially to see how the media frenzy surrounding a young woman’s disappearance affects the people who are closest to her.

For more information and to register, contact the Central Library reference desk at 401-943-9080 x3 or central@cranstonlibrary.org.

Registration is required. Space is limited. Titles and meeting dates are subject to change.


  • HIDDEN IN THE STACKS BOOK GROUP, 3rd Tuesdays | For readers who enjoy diving into lesser-known literary fiction

A Tale for the Time Being book coverNext meeting: Tuesday, March 17, 6:30 - 7:30 PM | Registration opens February 19, 2020

A Tale for the Time Being by Ruth Ozeki

Why this title was chosen:  What happens when an American writer fighting off writer's block learns about the life of a 16-year-old Japanese girl who is determined to memorialize her Buddhist nun grandmother? The trans-Pacific journey of a Hello Kitty lunchbox is an unlikely vehicle for bridging two worlds.

For more information and to register, contact the Central Library reference desk at 401-943-9080 x3 or central@cranstonlibrary.org.

Registration is required. Space is limited. Titles and meeting dates are subject to change.

 

  • MIDWEEK MEDLEY BOOK GROUP, 3rd Wednesdays | For readers who enjoy an eclectic variety of fiction and nonfiction titles

Unsheltered book cover

Next meeting: Wednesday, March 18, 6:30 - 7:30 PM | Registration opens February 20, 2020

Unsheltered by Barbara Kingsolver

Why this title was chosen:  What does it take for an entire family to go off the rails? In this novel that tells two stories in two different centuries, readers will consider topics as diverse as climate change, Darwinism, and Utopia.

For more information and to register, contact the Central Library reference desk at 401-943-9080 x3 or central@cranstonlibrary.org.

Registration is required. Space is limited. Titles and meeting dates are subject to change.

 

  • MODERN MYSTERY BOOK GROUP, 2nd Tuesdays | For readers who enjoy contemporary mysteries and thrillers

The Kept Woman book coverNext meeting: Tuesday, March 10, 6:30 - 7:30 PM | Registration opens February 12

The Kept Woman by Karin Slaughter

Why this title was chosen: 

The death of an ex-cop, a potential murder, and the troubled past of the investigator all weave together in this fast-paced psychological thriller. How does the past come back to haunt you?

For more information and to register, contact the Central Library reference desk at 401-943-9080 x3 or central@cranstonlibrary.org.

Registration is required. Space is limited. Titles and meeting dates are subject to change.

 

  • SCI FI BOOK GROUP, 2nd Wednesdays | For readers who enjoy science fiction

Title book cover

Next meeting: Wednesday, March 11, 6:30 - 7:30 PM | Registration opens February 13

The Martian by Andy Weir

Why this title was chosenIn a story that could easily take place not far in the future, this basic survival narrative in an unexpected setting stimulates a sense of adventure while making the technological concepts easy to grasp.

For more information and to register, contact the Central Library reference desk at 401-943-9080 x3 or central@cranstonlibrary.org.

Registration is required. Space is limited. Titles and meeting dates are subject to change.

 

  • YA FOR ADULTS BOOK GROUP, 4th Wednesdays | For readers of young adult literature

Dry by Neal Shusterman and Jarrod ShustermanNext meeting: Wednesday, January 29, 6:30-7:30 PM

Dry by Neal Shusterman and Jarrod Shusterman

Why this title was chosen: Group leader Alyssa loves stories where the environment is the "bad guy," and hopes Dry will inspire an interesting conversation about conservation, climate, and humanity.

 For more information and to register, contact the Central Library reference desk at 401-943-9080 x3 or central@cranstonlibrary.org.

 Registration is required . Space is limited. Titles and meeting dates are subject to change


MODERN READING GROUP @ AUBURN BRANCH

Dear Mrs Bird by A J PearceMeets monthly on varying afternoons at the Auburn Branch.

Next meeting: Tuesday, March 3, 12:30 PM

Dear Mrs. Bird by A. J. Pearce

This is a charming, irresistible novel set in London during World War II about a young woman who longs to be a war correspondent and inadvertently becomes a secret advice columnist. Dear Mrs. Bird is perfect for fans of The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society and Lilac Girls.

For more information and to register, contact the Auburn Library staff at 401-781-6116 or auburn@cranstonlibrary.org.


READING IN THE HALL @ WILLIAM HALL LIBRARY

A Woman of No Importance cover imageMeets on the fourth Wednesday of the month at 6:30 pm.

Next meeting: Wednesday, February 26, 6:30 - 7:30 PM

A Woman of No Importance by Sonia Purnell

In 1942, the Gestapo sent out an urgent transmission: "She is the most dangerous of all Allied spies. We must find and destroy her." This spy was Virginia Hall, a young American woman who talked her way into the spy organization dubbed Churchill's "ministry of ungentlemanly warfare." Virginia Hall was a powerful, influential, yet shockingly overlooked heroine of the Second World War, and her story is finally told with Purnell's signature insight and novelistic panache.

For more information and to register, contact the William Hall Library staff at 401-781-2450 or hall@cranstonlibrary.org.